Wallace House Community Centre

About Us

Situated in the heart of Evesham, Wallace House offers a diverse program of activities for all ages, from sports and leisure pursuits to educational and support classes, enabling the community to develop and learn new skills.

We have various sized rooms available for hire, at an hourly rate, whether you require a small meeting room or a full sized sports hall. Charities and certain non profit making groups are eligible for a discount of up to 15%. We also have changing rooms and shower facilities. The centre has disabled access too.

Our Coffee Bar provides a friendly and relaxed atmosphere to meet friends for a chat. We hold a quality assurance kite mark (keep it safe) for child protection and safeguarding children and are committed to equity and equality for all.

Why not call in and see what we have to offer ?


History of Wallace House

The idea of Wallace House Community Centre began in 1946. Samuel Wallace Smedley (Smedley Peas) gave Mayor Alderman and the Burgesses of the Borough of Evesham property (42 High Street) as well £10,000 to be used by the people of Evesham. A Trust was set up.

The aim of the Trust was to provide a facility for recreational, social, educational and sporting opportunities, with a particular emphasis on young people. Its purpose was for use of non-political or religious clubs, societies or organisations having athletic, social or educational objectives mainly for the benefit of young people.

The present Community Centre was built in two phases. The area that the Centre was built on was the Oat Street precincts.

Phase 1 - The Oat Street precinct which used to contain the sergeant’s house, offices, charge rooms, cells and other accommodations was demolished and the present Centre built.

In 1969 W.V Smedley, son of the original founder of the Trust opened the new Community Centre. This included the present coffee bar area, upstairs sportshall, lounge and Wally’s Den.

Phase 2 – in 1976 plans for the demolition of the rest of the Old Police station were under way. Thanks to the local firms and individuals contributing towards the cost, the work was finished in 1980. This included the dojo and more rooms.

The Dojo was named after Leslie Bawden who was the vice chair of the development committee, who along with Henry King ( the chair of the development committee) worked hard to raise the funds to develop the old courtyard and cells. Leslie Bawden died in 1980 and his wife opened the Dojo on its completion as a memorial to his work.

In 1990 the Trusteeship set up in 1946 was passed from the County Council to Town Council, once again belonging to the people of Evesham

Over the years the community of Evesham has seen many changes and like the community Wallace House has changed to meet the needs of the people of Evesham.

FUNDRAISING

The Centre is currently undergoing an extensive refurbishment programme which requires a huge amount of fundraising.  Recently we have updated and modernised the toilets, we have new windows and frontage, new flooring and storage in the dojo, new flooring and replacement furniture in the coffee bar area (it looks amazing!) and we've completed what feels like hundred's of smaller tasks to make Wallace House a more user friendly space for the community's needs. The next big job is to replace the boiler and continue an extensive programme of redecoration. Work is being completed bit by bit but there's a long way to go!

Keep an eye on our website for fundraising events or have a look at our Facebook page for updates and events.

We use cookies on this website for better user experience.
How we use cookies

That's OK!